Circuit Solicitors

The South Carolina Circuit Solicitor is an elected official who is responsible for overseeing the prosecution of criminal cases in South Carolina.  Other states refer to this same position as the District Attorney. The election, term and duties of circuit solicitors are set forth in Article V, Section 24 of the South Carolina Constitution and in “Article 3, Chapter 7, Title 1 of the 1976 SC Code of Laws.  The Circuit Solicitor ensures prosecutions are processed by organizing an orderly and efficient flow of cases, assigning cases to attorneys, advising attorneys on the cases assigned, monitoring the status of pending cases, and supervising personnel.

The 1868 South Carolina Constitution (South Carolina’s fifth constitution) established one Solicitor for each judicial circuit, elected by electors of the particular circuit, for a term of four years. Today, South Carolina has 16 judicial circuits and each circuit has its own elected Circuit Solicitor.   Each circuit is comprised of two to five counties.  The Office of Circuit Solicitor is a constitutional office and each Solicitor is elected by the voters within the respective circuit for a term of four years.

Circuit Solicitor Programs

South Carolina’s Circuit Solicitors also administer diversion/intervention programs such as Pretrial Intervention, Alcohol Education, Traffic Education, Juvenile Arbitration, Drug Court, the Worthless Check program, and many more.   These programs are alternatives to the traditional court process and hold individuals accountable while affording them a second chance.


Additionally, the Circuit Solicitors’ Offices each have Victim-Witness Assistance Advocate Programs to help ensure that a fair and compassionate process for victims and witnesses.

Scroll down for more information on South Carolina’s Circuit Solicitors, and for more information on their programs, visit our pages on Diversion/Intervention and Victim-Witness Programs in the Circuit Solicitors’ offices.



South Carolina Judicial Circuit Map


David Pascoe, Jr.
1st Circuit

Calhoun, Dorchester, Orangeburg

Bill Weeks
2nd Circuit

Aiken, Bamberg, Barnwell

Ernest A. "Chip" Finney, III
3rd Circuit

Clarendon, Lee, Sumter, Williamsburg

William B. Rogers, Jr.
4th Circuit

Chesterfield, Darlington, Marlboro, Dillon

Byron Gipson
5th Circuit

Richland, Kershaw

Randy E. Newman, Jr.
6th Circuit

Chester, Fairfield, Lancaster

Barry J. Barnette
7th Circuit

Cherokee, Spartanburg

David M. Stumbo
8th Circuit

Abbeville, Greenwood, Laurens, Newberry

Scarlett A. Wilson
9th Circuit

Charleston, Berkeley

David R. Wagner, Jr.
10th Circuit

Anderson, Oconee

S. R. (Rick) Hubbard, III
11th Circuit

Lexington, Saluda, Edgefield, McCormick

E. L. (Ed) Clements, III
12th Circuit

Florence, Marion

W. Walter Wilkins, III
13th Circuit

Greenville, Pickens

Isaac McDuffie (Duffie) Stone, III
14th Circuit

Allendale, Hampton, Jasper, Beaufort, Colleton

Jimmy A. Richardson, II
15th Circuit

Georgetown, Horry

Kevin S. Brackett
16th Circuit

Union, York

Lisa H. Catalanotto
Executive Director

South Carolina Commission on Prosecution Coordination